kode adsense disini
Hot Best Seller

Lolita

Availability: Ready to download

Stanley Kubrick's version of Vladimir Nabokov's novel was one of the most controversial films of the 1960s. This analysis is written by Richard Corliss, editor of Film Comment. It features a brief production history and a detailed filmography.


Compare
kode adsense disini

Stanley Kubrick's version of Vladimir Nabokov's novel was one of the most controversial films of the 1960s. This analysis is written by Richard Corliss, editor of Film Comment. It features a brief production history and a detailed filmography.

30 review for Lolita

  1. 4 out of 5

    AMEERA

    Lolita ah this absolutely good book

  2. 5 out of 5

    Catherine Osborne

    as the author stated, this novel is about his love affair with the english language, not about pedophilia. it is breath-taking and exquisite, one of my favorite novels of all time.

  3. 4 out of 5

    Laura

    This is one of my top three favorite books of all time. I absolutely adore it and recommend it to anyone. Nabokov is an incredible author.

  4. 5 out of 5

    Suzanne Jones

    Is the readers sympathy for the Protagonist Humber Humbert or with Lolita? I would suppose that depends upon your views of what is considered "love" or what is classed or considered to be "child abuse" entirely. To trust an adult means having boundaries, Humbert has none of these. His selfish attitude and his "excuses" are entirely all within his own mind.

  5. 5 out of 5

    Tara

    Famous book that is reportedly about old England (Humbert) and young naive America (Lolita). Honestly, I just see a guy with serious first love issues and a girl who will do anything to get what she wants. Nabakov is such a liar about it really being a simile to countries.

  6. 5 out of 5

    Caroline

    Doesn't talk enough about the film, considering it's a BFI book. The book has so much to talk about that I thought it just ended up weakening the argument to split it up so evenly between book and film. However, aside from that, he does have some interesting things to say about both, and analyzes both together in a good way. It's worth looking at if you want to learn more about the film, but be aware that 1) it's not exclusively about it in the way that other BFI books are, and 2) DON'T read thi Doesn't talk enough about the film, considering it's a BFI book. The book has so much to talk about that I thought it just ended up weakening the argument to split it up so evenly between book and film. However, aside from that, he does have some interesting things to say about both, and analyzes both together in a good way. It's worth looking at if you want to learn more about the film, but be aware that 1) it's not exclusively about it in the way that other BFI books are, and 2) DON'T read this if you haven't read the novel -- spoilers everywhere, even if you've seen the film.

  7. 5 out of 5

    Massoud Abbasi

    For fans of Kubrick and Nabokov, you are in for a treat and simply must read this book. Exquisite And layered w an analysis of language and human intention and motivation like no other. Well worth the quick time it will take you. A truly unique reflection on an original masterpiece. Well done.

  8. 5 out of 5

    Alison Petrocelli

    This is probably the only novel with a pervert I felt sorry for... I will never let my daughter wear those glasses!

  9. 4 out of 5

    Dors

    Lolita(the book) is funny, tasty, addictive, dynamic, as for her she is... she is her, flirty, bold, charismatic. I haven't watched the movie yet, but I am looking forward to, to fin the similarities between what I pictured and what the director pictured. It is really an enjoyable story, thrilling.

  10. 5 out of 5

    Elizabeth

    This book was insightful about the strengths & weaknesses of both Lolita the book & Lolita the film. Corliss is knowledgeable about both Nabakov's and Kubrick's backgrounds to provide context for each work. What turned me off was his original poem and the "citations" of the poem that make up his criticism. It was gimmicky and did not impress me as a reader.

  11. 5 out of 5

    Б. Долгорсүрэн

    It was so difficult to understand in English even Mongolian. Sanaj baisniig yagaad ch guitssengui my type bish bn. Uter turgen duusgalaa Mongol orchuulgiig ni.

  12. 5 out of 5

    Natalie

    Richard Corliss' exploration of Kubrick's Lolita delves equally into Nabokov's novel as it does into the film. Interesting insights. I love the BFI Film Classics series.

  13. 5 out of 5

    Pamela Rahn

    mundo cruel, que no hace libros como estos infinitos.

  14. 4 out of 5

    Aridevia Ramírez

    Es excelente, es una lectura fuerte, más que si fuera erótica, para nada es sucia, solo trasciende en un amor que es difícil de asimilar.

  15. 5 out of 5

    Amy Moore

    couldn't even finish it...I just got super bored with this unfortunately

  16. 5 out of 5

    Connor Hatton

    It was great!

  17. 5 out of 5

    Tomáš Sekerka

    Z uměleckého hlediska možná hodnotné dílo, z mého, subjektivního však úchylné, ale hlavně nudné a nezáživné.

  18. 4 out of 5

    Lovetoread

    AAAAMMMAAAZZZZIINGG...... I guess that's all I have to describe this book!

  19. 4 out of 5

    Karen

    I don't know what to think about it. Go see for yourself.

  20. 5 out of 5

    Andie Powers

  21. 4 out of 5

    Bruce Nuffer

  22. 4 out of 5

    Stefanie Delgado

  23. 4 out of 5

    Alex Cristo

  24. 5 out of 5

    Marta Gomez

  25. 5 out of 5

    Tawnya

  26. 5 out of 5

    Marian Rojas

  27. 4 out of 5

    Leeann

  28. 4 out of 5

    Roxanne Atienza

  29. 4 out of 5

    Shannon

  30. 5 out of 5

    Seijiro E Hori

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading...
We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.